Here is my 46 year old crock pot w/ the recipe book i have been using for just that long. I prepared this pumpkin Tea bread when Eric was a baby for his first Christmas family dinner. Everyone absolutely loved it, and it has been requested every year since. when I moved to Florida, then NC my “avocado colour crock pot traveled with me. Still going strong for nearly 1/2 a century. my friend Jo & her family moved from Davidson…and she asked me if i could mail her one…i told her it would be less expensive to go to E Bay and purchase one w/ the bread’n Cake pan, [this was an accessory item, thank God I purchased it. they sell for around 15.00 on eBay. in that lovely colour…but just hide it in the pantry when not in use. it is now just out of the crock pot resting in the baking pan, before i turn it our on a cooling rack. The aroma is intoxicating. Just turned it out onto a cooling rack. 

now John is in my life and I baked him one years ago…he said he would never eat it as he does not like pumpkin or any squash for that matter…now he begs me to bake him one. British folk just love their Sweets w/ hot tea… I usually freeze 1/2 in a vacuum sealing bag. Sometimes it’s good plain, sometimes w/ cream cheese…but never with frosting. a sugar drizzle is OK.

you can see here how brown /worn the pages are !

I’ll type it out so you can better read it;

1/2 cup canola oil / 1/2 cup sugar / 1/2 cup brown sugar / 2 beaten eggs / 1 cup pureed [canned] plain pumpkin -no seasoning in can] 1 1/2 cup sifted flour / 1/2 teaspoon salt [ i use King Arthur bread/baking salt] / 1/2 tsp. cinnamon / 1/2 tsp fresh grated nutmeg / 1 tsp baking soda / 1 cups chopped Walnuts / 1/2 cup pitted dates cut up [ I use Medjool dates]  [i use 1 cup]

Blend oil and two sugars. stir in beaten eggs, pumpkin, sift dry ingredients together. add. Stir in nuts & dates

If you already have a crock pot and it’s tall enough you may use a 2 pound coffee can greased & floured & place in crock pot cover the top of can w/ 6 to 8 paper towels. place lid on crock pot. bake n high for 3 hours. no fair peeking.

you must use a crock pot for this recipe as the bread needs to Steam.

if you try it once you will be baking it like me for nearly 1/2 a century !   Enjoy!